Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

This subject category lists recommended databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.

  • AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

        AgEcon
    This resource is freely accessible

    AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

    Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.

    Full record

  • Animal Drugs @ FDA

        FDA
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Animal Drugs @ FDA

    Replaces the Database of Approved Animal Drug Products or Green Book, a database that was previously developed and managed by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM) Drug Information Laboratory. Allows users to search for detailed descriptions of all FDA-approved new animal drugs, including patents.

    Full record

  • AGRIS from FAO

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessibleContents of this resource available through Summon

    AGRIS from FAO

    AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.  

    Full record

  • AQUASTAT from FAO

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    AQUASTAT from FAO

    AQUASTAT collects, analyzes, and disseminates information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Information and datasets are available by country on land use and population, climate and water resource, water use, by sector and by source, irrigation and drainage development, and environment and health. 1958-present.

    Full record

  • CARIS from FAO

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessible

    CARIS from FAO

    Created to identify and facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in developing countries, including natural resources, nutrition, and agricultural economics. Basic information about each project is presented. 1975-present.  

    Full record

  • CONSULTANT from Cornell University

        CONSULTANT from Cornell University
    This resource is freely accessible

    CONSULTANT from Cornell University

    CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs. It provides a brief synopsis of the diagnoses, including a general description, the species affected, signs associated with it, and a list of recent literature refences.

    Full record

  • Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

        Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

    The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

    Full record

  • CRIS - Current Research Information System

        Current Research Information System
    This resource is freely accessible

    CRIS - Current Research Information System

    CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Research summarized in reports in CRIS is often published elsewhere, and the report will note where publication was expected. 1966-present.

    Full record

  • FAOSTAT

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessible

    FAOSTAT

    FAOSTAT provides time-series records covering 210 countries and territories and international statistics concerning: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery and Food Aid Shipments.

    Full record

  • Forestry AgNIC

        Forestry AgNIC
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Forestry AgNIC

    Forestry AgNIC indexes citations and abstracts from journals, image collections, and more on all aspects of forestry.

    Full record

  • Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data

        GeoData.gov
    This resource is freely accessible

    Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data

    geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.

    Full record

  • Merck Veterinary Manual

        Merck Veterinary Manual
    This resource is freely accessible

    Merck Veterinary Manual

    The Merck Veterinary Manual provides full-text reference articles in HTML on animal health topics. References are not included. You can search or browse entries.

    Full record

  • National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

        USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

    NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

    Full record

  • OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

        OECD
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    OECD iLibrary (Organisation for EconomicCo-operation and Development)

    OECD iLibrary indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, reports, and ebooks in all areas of world economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF, plus statistics in Excel. Our subscription includes six journals, though many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more. 1997-present.   

    Full record

  • Online Digital Media Library from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

        US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Online Digital Media Library from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

    The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain. Documents are commonly presented as PDFs; multimedia are presented in JPG and other video formats. Also includes bibliographic records for physical media.

    Full record

  • PLANTS Database from the USDA

        USDA PLANTS
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    PLANTS Database from the USDA

    The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

    Full record

  • PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

    PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

    Full record


Bookmark and Share


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Access online databases at your local library

May require registration with your local library


Freely accessible databases

Listed here are databases that have no access restrictions (you don't need to be a current student to search them). Some databases provided free access to only a part of their content; check the database description for details.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #