This subject category lists recommended databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases. Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.
Allows searching and viewing newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Full-text newspapers from Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington are currently available.
This database provides full-text PDFs of Congressional Research Service reports. CRS does not provide public access to their reports, instead these reports have been collected from members of Congress's website and other sources. This database does not include a compete collection of all CRS reports. 1976-present.
Search and annotate public photography archives from institutions such as Library of Congress, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, George Eastman House, National Maritime Museum, Library of Virginia, Imperial War Museum, New York Public Library, DC Public Library Commons, and Field Museum Library. Participating cultural institutions have reasonably concluded that included photographs are free of copyright restrictions.
The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. The Catalog also displays searching aids for users, such as cross-references and scope notes. Items identified through this catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
The National Jukebox provides streaming music (via an embedded Adobe Flash player) from their collection of music and spoken word recordings and from other participating libraries. You can browse or search for recordings or playlists. 1910-1929.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text theses and dissertations from around the world. Many are available in full text through this database (otherwise you may be able to request a copy through interlibrary loan). Early 1900s-present.
Virginia Memory provides digitized collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art.
Access online databases at your local library
May require registration with your local library
Listed here are databases that have no access restrictions (you don't need to be a current student to search them). Some databases provided free access to only a part of their content; check the database description for details.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #