This subject category lists recommended databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry. Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.
HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. HERO indexes citations, abstract, and some full text from journals, books, computer programs, conference papers, data sets, dissertations, laws and codes, magazines, newspapers, patents, reports, and standards. 1800s-present.
POPLINE indexes citations and abstracts of articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the fields of population, family planning, and related health issues. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1827-present; majority of records 1970-present.
The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.
Listed here are databases that have no access restrictions (you don't need to be a current student to search them). Some databases provided free access to only a part of their content; check the database description for details.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Access online databases at your local library
May require registration with your local library