<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
<channel>	
 <atom:link href="http://www.lib.vt.edu/alumniportal/databases/research-starter-rss2.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
 <title>Research starter</title>
 <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/alumniportal/databases/research-starter.html</link>
 <description></description>
 <language>en</language>
 <pubDate>Fri, 30 Sep 2011 17:44:39 -0400</pubDate>
 <managingEditor>webmaster@lib.vt.edu</managingEditor>
 <webMaster>webmaster@lib.vt.edu</webMaster>
 <docs>http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/rss/rss.html</docs>
 <item>
  <title>Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/background-notes.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/U/S_usds.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;United States Department of State&quot; height=&quot;153px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2003&quot; title=&quot;Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2003&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;Background Notes&lt;/i&gt; include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.state.gov/s/inr/states/&quot;&gt;independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty&lt;/a&gt;. &lt;i&gt;Background Notes&lt;/i&gt; are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department&apos;s &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.state.gov/countries/&quot;&gt;regional bureaus&lt;/a&gt;. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000708&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/background-notes.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/background-notes.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Biodiversity Heritage Library</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/biodiversity-heritage-library.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/B/S_biodiv.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Biodiversity Heritage Library&quot; height=&quot;136px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/advancedsearch.aspx&quot; title=&quot;Biodiversity Heritage Library&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/advancedsearch.aspx&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Biodiversity Heritage Library&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;BHL&lt;/i&gt; contains scanned, historic, biological literature from major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions: books, journals, and more. Content can be downloaded as PDF, ASCII, or just the images contained within the object. 1480-present.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/biodiversity-heritage-library.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/B/biodiversity-heritage-library.html</guid>
  <category>Catalogs (about publications)</category>
  <category>Ebook packages</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>CIA World Fact Book</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/cia-world-fact-book.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/C/S_cia.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Central Intelligence Agency&quot; height=&quot;180px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html&quot; title=&quot;CIA World Fact Book&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;CIA World Fact Book&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;The World Factbook&lt;/i&gt; provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/cia-world-fact-book.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/cia-world-fact-book.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>WorldCat.org catalog from OCLC</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/worldcat-org-catalog-from-oclc.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/W/S_worldcat-org.gif&quot; alt=&quot;Worldcat.org&quot; height=&quot;156px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_mobile.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link&quot; width=&quot;10&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_getvtext-20.gif&quot; title=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; width=&quot;80&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch&quot; title=&quot;WorldCat.org catalog from OCLC&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;WorldCat.org catalog from OCLC&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;WorldCat is a &quot;master&quot; catalog of library materials. This freely accessible version allows you to find citations and some full text of books, music, videos, articles, photos, primary sources, theses and dissertations, newspapers, and maps from around the world. &lt;i&gt;WorldCat&lt;/i&gt; can indicate whether an item is available from the Virginia Tech Libraries; otherwise request a copy through interlibrary loan.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/worldcat-org-catalog-from-oclc.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/worldcat-org-catalog-from-oclc.html</guid>
  <category>Catalogs (about publications)</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Mobile interface</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
  <category>Get VText</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Wolfram MathWorld</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/wolfram-mathworld.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/W/S_wolfram.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Wolfram MathWorld&quot; height=&quot;104px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://mathworld.wolfram.com/&quot; title=&quot;Wolfram MathWorld&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://mathworld.wolfram.com/&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Wolfram MathWorld&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;Wolfram MathWorld&lt;/i&gt; provides full-text reference articles (with bibliographic citations), a glossary of mathematical terms, downloadable &lt;i&gt;Mathematica&lt;/i&gt; notebooks, and a guide to &lt;i&gt;Mathematica&lt;/i&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/wolfram-mathworld.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/W/wolfram-mathworld.html</guid>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Handbooks and manuals</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
</channel> 
</rss>