We offer multiple paths to find databases for your research projects. Listed here are three browsable lists of databases. You can also use the search box on the right side of this screen.
If you know the beginning letter of the database you need, or you want to browse all databases, use the alphabet below. Note that these lists are long and unwieldy; the database search box on the right is more efficient.
These pages group databases into broad subject categories. These can be useful to browse when your research topic crosses many disciplines. For more focused lists, use the databases recommended on our subject guides.
Databases are also listed by the type or format of the materials or resources they index. Examples included databases for conference proceedings, multimedia, newspaper articles, reviews, or statistics. For more focuses lists of databases, use the recommended databases listed on our subject guides or our detailed find by format pages.
The Directory of Periodicals contain extensive information aout the journals and book series indexes in the MLA International Bibliography. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application designed for non-technical as well as advance users to create thematic maps and reports using a variety of demographic, business, and marketing data. There are more 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.
This database in on trial through May 1, 2014. SAGE Research Methods Cases provides full-text case studies in HTML and PDF about methodological concepts in practice. Each case study has learning outcomes and discussion questions to guide understanding. Please send feedback on this database to Leslie O'Brien or your college librarian.
Sun, Mar 2: open 9:00am*
Mon-Thu, Mar 3-6: open 24 hours*
Fri, Mar 7: Close at 8:00pm*
Sat, Mar 8: 9:00am - 6:00pm (Break hours begin)
*During 24 hour operation, a valid Hokie Passport is required to access or remain in the library between 12 midnight and 7:30am.
Sun, Mar 2: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
Mon-Thu, Mar 3-6: 8:00am - 1);00pm
Fri, Mar 7, 8:00am - 6:00pm
Sat-Sun, Mar 8-9: Closed
Mon-Thu: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Fri: 11:00am - 7:00pm
Sat: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Mon-Thu: 7:30am - 11:00pm
Fri: 7:30am - 5:00pm
Sat: 9:00am - 6:00pm