Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Archives
This resource is freely accessible

Access to Archival Databases (AAD) from NARA

Provides online access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Out of the nearly 200,000 data files in its holdings, NARA has selected approximately 475 of them for public searching through AAD. These data were selected because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses. AAD provides:

  • Access to over 85 million historic electronic records created by more than 30 agencies of the U.S. federal government and from collections of donated historical materials.
  • Both free-text and fielded searching options.
  • The ability to retrieve, print, and download records with the specific information that you seek.
  • Information to help you find and understand the records.

See also the Archival Research Catalog (ARC) from the National Archives .

With one exception, AAD does not include digitally scanned images of paper records, photographs, microfilm, and other non-electronic records. The one exception is the digitally scanned version of technical information about some of the databases.

Descriptions of the AAD series and files are available on this site. Series and file descriptions include narrative summaries of the scope and content of the records, function and use of the records by the creating organizations, coverage and creation (i.e., inclusive) dates, and many other descriptive elements. You can find the series or file descriptions by clicking on the red info link following a series or file title.

Coverage

1800s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.