Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The fortieth edition of Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary (AIAD) offers increased coverage in all fields of human endeavor. Many of the new terms are from the subject areas of:

  • Arts and Entertainment
  • Botony
  • Business
  • Computers
  • Government
  • Languages
  • Military
  • Natural Resources
  • Publishing
  • Science

Of major value to librarians and researchers is the inclusion of:

  • International Associations
  • National Associations
  • Regional and State Associations
  • Car, Motorcycle, and Truck Models and Makes
  • Political Action Committees
  • Research Centers
  • Stock Exchange Symbols

Codes are provided to indicate the source from which the information was obtained. This feature allows the user to verify the entries and may, in some instances, lead to additional information. Complete bibliographic data about the publications cited can be found in the List of Selected Sources following the acknowledgments. Terms that are obtained from miscellaneous newspapers and magazines, are provided by outside contributors, or are discovered through independent research by the editorial staff remain uncoded.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.