Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001012

    Advertising Red Books
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Advertising Red Books

Advertising Red Books is the source for uncovering key advertiser and agency relationships. As a lead generation (e.g. to download marketing lists) and competitive intelligence tool, Advertising Red Books can be used to:

  • Identify agency clients
  • Locate the critical information about agency clients
  • Reveal the right contacts at those clients for prospecting
  • Find a company by searching by the brand it owns
  • Check-out the competition

The uniqueness of Advertising Red Books is in our advertiser-to-agency “linkages,” our in-depth agency database and our up-to-date agency and advertiser content.

  • Use our agency “linkages” to help pitch your media
  • Find advertisers that use your specific types of services to identify opportunities
  • Check out your competition (agency and advertiser – we include billings, expenditures or sales)
  • Explore potential conflicting accounts
  • Find the most current names in advertiser and agency personnel for telemarketing, direct marketing, creating lead lists, populating your CRM and recruiting
  • Locate the ‘owner’ of a brand for cross-promotion or co-op initiatives

Advertising Red Books provide current, detailed data, including:

  • Agency accounts, specializations, gross billings by media, and contact information for agency personnel
  • Advertisers with significant spend on advertising annually
  • Specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spend by media and agencies retained by the Advertiser
  • Information on nearly 125,000 brand names

Data content for advertisers

  • Company Name
  • Key Personnel
  • Advertising Expenditures & Breakdown by Media
  • Advertising Agency, Products Advertised & Account Executives
  • Brand Names & Product Descriptions
  • Company Address
  • Company Website
  • Telephone
  • Company e-mail
  • E-mail for Key Personnel
  • Fax
  • S.I.C. & N.A.I.C.S. Codes
  • Business Description
  • Year Founded
  • Number of Employees
  • Sales Figure or Sales Range
  • Enhanced Company Profiles – A quick synopsis that fills you in on big picture details about a corporation. This easy-to-read paragraph will fill you in on these facts & more:
    • Is it public or private?
    • Where’s the headquarters?
    • What industry? What exactly do they do?
    • Where else do they have main offices globally
    • Company size by number of employees & annual revenue
    • Recent news

Data content for advertising agencies

  • Company Name
  • Key Personnel
  • Annual Billings & Breakdown of Billings by Media
  • Agency Client Lists, including New Accounts
  • Account Executives
  • Company Address
  • Company Website
  • Creative Blogs & URL
  • Telephone
  • Company e-mail
  • E-mail for Key Personnel
  • Fax
  • S.I.C. & N.A.I.C.S. Codes
  • Agency Specialization
  • Year Founded
  • Number of Employees
  • National Agency Associations
  • Branch Offices

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1990s-present

Date

January 31, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.