Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001175

    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Africa Knowledge Project

The Africa Knowledge Project indexes the full text of articles, reports, dissertations, short stories and folktales, plus audio and music files on Africa and the African diaspora.

The Africa Resource Knowledge Project, known as ARC Knowledge Project is an initiative by Africa Resource Center, Inc. Dedicated exclusively to the academic research on Africa and the African Diaspora, the knowledge project is a centralized virtual repository that functions both as a publishing and distribution platform. Constructed as a virtual whirlpool, the dynamic environment features manuscript submission and monitoring, progress review tracking, contextualized user-centered rich modules, and syndication.

The goals of Africa Resource Knowledge Project are:

  • To enable users to connect to rich-contextualized research on Africa and the African Diaspora
  • To increase and expand the range of cultural knowledge on Africa
  • To continuously publish and distribute timely peer-reviewed research with relevant topical discussion

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1968-present

Date

March 13, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.