Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000078

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) from ProQuest

A database for the benefit of researchers working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. Previous issues have summarized articles on vaccine development for malaria, environmental impact of algal blooms genetic engineering of Saccharomyces, Pneumocystis pneumonia in AIDS, bioenergetics of flagellar motility, and other current topics. Subsection abstracts are arranged taxonomically for the easy location of articles relevant to specific microorganisms.

Major areas of coverage include:

  • Taxonomy, Structure, and Function
  • Growth, Development, and Life Cycles
  • Ecology and Distribution
  • Biochemistry
  • Effects of Physical and Chemical Factors
  • Methodology, Media, and Cultures
  • Nutrition
  • Genetics
  • Mycotoxins
  • Immunology and Vaccination
  • Parasitism and Diseases
  • Viruses and Bacteria of Microorganisms
  • Soil Microbiology and Mycorrhiza
  • Food Microbiology and Fermentation
  • Spoilage and Biodegradation
  • Pollution

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1982-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.