Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000012

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Animal Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest

Under the editorial guidance of one of the world's leading ethologists, Animal Behavior Abstracts is a resource for scientists in behavioral and related studies. Significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, are covered. Animal Behavior Abstracts surveys all of the important journals dealing with the biology of particular taxonomic groups. And researchers will find both field and laboratory inquiries summarized. 

Major areas of coverage include:

  • Aggression
  • Anatomical correlates
  • Avoidance learning
  • Behavioral ecology
  • Biological correlates
  • Brain lesions
  • Brain stimulation (electrical and chemical)
  • Communication
  • Discrimination
  • Learning
  • Dominance
  • Evolution and survival value
  • External stimulation
  • Foraging and ingestion
  • Genetics of behavior
  • Locomotion
  • Memory
  • Methodology
  • Motivation
  • Navigation
  • Neurophysiological correlates
  • Ontogeny
  • Parental-filial behavior
  • Rhythms
  • Selected drug studies
  • Sexual and reproductive behavior
  • Sleep
  • Theoretical models and overviews

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1982-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.