The Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) is an encyclopaedic, multimedia tool that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support sound decision-making in animal husbandry and food production worldwide. It is comprised of information sourced from experts, edited and compiled by an independent scientific organization, and resourced by a diverse international Development Consortium. It is kept up to date routinely. Existing information on animal health and production has been collated, evaluated, organized and presented as a single resource..
The Compendium contains:
- Coverage of the health and production of the most economically important food animals, with especially detailed information on pigs, poultry and ruminants. The following components are used:
- Disease datasheets covering approximately 300 infectious diseases, plus pathogens and other factors affecting the health of pigs, poultry and ruminants. These detailed knowledge reviews are compiled under standard subject headings by a panel of subject experts at institutions worldwide. All input is edited to CABI's established standards and then verified by a team of world experts on each animal group. Content includes the latest collated geographic distribution data from the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) and information from the Consultant database from Cornell University (see below). Diseases are also linked to the animal system they affect (e.g. digestive diseases of pigs), aiding information retrieval.
- Breed datasheets for approximately 500 breeds of pigs, poultry and ruminants selected for their economic importance. Topics covered include: breed status, genetics and breeding; health and diseases; nutritional requirements; behaviour and welfare; housing and equipment; environmental aspects; economics; and products and performance. The same editorial standards are applied to these as to the disease datasheets.
- Food Safety and Quality datasheets: nearly 40 datasheets covering food products and food contaminants with information on risk analysis and control. Food product datasheets also contain information about product quality criteria, production factors affecting quality, and quality assurance.
- Library: the Library includes original texts on husbandry, production, breeding and nutrition of food animals and on food and other products, with illustrations, have been compiled by experts especially for the Compendium. In addition to these, the library has a substantial collection of book chapters and electronic resources previously published by ACIAR, CABI, FAO, ILRI, OIE and others. Topics include: disease control, epidemiology, veterinary economics, animal housing and equipment, husbandry, routine surgery, welfare, legislation, milking, reproductive techniques, slaughter, waste disposal, environmental management, production systems, products, food, and food safety. The Compendium Library can be navigated using a contents list or by keyword searching.
- Other datasheets: Species and diseases that are not represented by full datasheets (written by experts) are represented by outline datasets obtained from CAB Abstracts, OIE and Consultant (Cornell University). Further breed information from Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties, 5th Edition, (CABI) is available in the Glossary.
- Taxonomic framework, giving taxonomic details for all species covered in the Compendium. All taxa are connected by a series of taxonomic hierarchies, shown in a graphical presentation within which the user may navigate, calling up datasheets at any point and listing species for further selection.
- Bibliographic database of over 135,000 references, most with abstracts from the CAB Abstracts database. References cited in datasheets are softlinked to the citations. There is a powerful integrated retrieval tool, offering Boolean searching.
- Glossary of terms, including 30,000 definitions from Balliere's Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary (3rd Edition), over 10,000 terms from the World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties, and 1800 terms from CABI's Encyclopaedia of Farm Animal Nutrition.
- Geographic distribution database containing country distribution data for all diseases and breeds covered. This provides the data for a GIS that presents the user with a dynamic mapping capability in which geographic data are automatically projected as distribution maps, global and regional, which can be compared with the distribution of another disease, breed, etc.
- Statistics: Animal production statistics and other economic data are integrated, including data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).
- Country database: Datasheets on over 150 countries, with maps and statistical data on animal production and additional economic data from FAO, and the World Bank. Contact details for national veterinary services and breeding programmes are included for some countries.
- The Compendium contains nearly 2000 images.
What does it cover?
All aspects of health and production of the major economically important livestock and poultry species and breeds throughout the world including:
- Distribution, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of infectious, zoonotic and non-infectious diseases
- Diseases, pathogens and vectors
- Husbandry, housing and animal welfare
- Genetics and breeding
- Nutrition and feeding
- Herd and rangeland management
- Economics of animal production disease impact
- Animal production, dairy management and technology
- Food safety and quality of livestock and poultry products throughout the food management chain, including HACCP techniques and systems, quality assurance, important zoonotic microbial pathogens and quality and safety aspects of individual food products.