Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000144

    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI

Aquaculture Compendia is an encyclopedic, mixed media resource covering all aspects of aquaculture. It addresses issues of aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, poverty alleviation, livelihoods and much more. Coverage is of fish, molluscs, crustacea, algae and live feed culture in marine, brackish and freshwater environments, including:

  • Production, health and husbandry
  • Engineering and technology
  • Economics, economic development and marketing
  • Environment, governance, trade, legislation and social impacts

It provides:

  • Over 700 datasheets including detailed information on 300+ cultured aquatic species and 100 aquatic diseases and disorders, including finfish, crustacea, molluscs, algae and live feeds. Each datasheet covers taxonomy, life cycle, reproduction, nutrition and feeding, environmental requirements, health, genetics, behaviour, native and cultured distribution.
  • Summary information on 200 other diseases. Each disease has a datasheet covering epidemiology, geographic and host range, economic impacts, pathology, clinical signs, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, zoonoses and food safety issues. Content includes the latest collated geographic distribution data from the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE).
  • Overview datasheets on production and environmental systems, and wide-ranging issues in aquaculture. Species and diseases that are not represented by full datasheets (written by experts) are represented by outline datasets obtained from CAB Abstracts, OIE and FishBase.
  • 130 case studies; examples of practical problem solving and innovation. xamples cover the major aquaculture issues in extension, research and industry. For the first edition of the Compendium there is a South and South-East Asian focus on case studies with many being produced in close consultation with researchers, especially in Bangladesh and Vietnam.
  • An electronic library of specially commissioned and previously published information – featuring 1000 items from internationally respected sources. he Compendium Library can be navigated using a contents list, by full-text searching or by direct linkage from a datasheet.
  • Bibliographic database with over 80,000 records, all soft-linked from citations within the text. eferences cited in datasheets are linked to the citations. There is a powerful integrated retrieval tool, offering Boolean searching.
  • Over 2,000 images to allow for easy identification and teaching to illustrate cultured species, systems, topics, pathogens and diseases, usually in colour, linked internally to all other content relating to these topics. The Compendium contains nearly 2000 images.
  • An Interactive glossary, with more than 30,000 definitions, including definitions from Balliere's Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary.
  • Case studies covering major aquaculture issues and hot topics that not only summarise present knowledge, but also provide models of practical problem solving and improvement through educational, technical, social or economic innovation
  • Informative texts provided by leading world experts on cultured aquatic animals and plants, and their production, diseases and environmental impact as well as important generic issues and topics in aquaculture
  • Maps illustrating aquatic species' wild and cultured distributions, sourced from FishBase, by permission of WorldFish Center and other publishing partners.
  • Datasheets on over 150 countries, with maps and statistical data on aquaculture production and additional economic data from FAO, the World Bank and other sources. Contact details for contributing organisations based in that country are included for some countries.
  • Informative mapping of disease distribution data, kindly provided by OIE (World Organization for Animal Health). This provides the data for a GIS that presents the user with a dynamic mapping capability in which geographic data are automatically projected as distribution maps, global and regional, which can be compared with the distribution of another species, disease, etc.
  • Electronic Library of over 1,000 articles sourced from over 80 publishers, including over 50 book chapters re-published from CABI books. Other material includes electronic books, reports, classified and indexed Internet links, and a large collection of extension documents

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1932-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.