Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AQUASTAT from FAO

AQUASTAT is FAO's global information system on water and agriculture, developed by the Land and Water Division. The main mandate of the programme is to collect, analyze and disseminate information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. This allows interested users to find comprehensive and regularly updated information at global, regional, and national levels.

The AQUASTAT database provides information on water and agriculture by countries in the following main categories:

  • Land use and population
  • Climate and water resources
  • Water use, by sector and by source
  • Irrigation and drainage development
  • Environment and health

The AQUASTAT database can be queried on-line and the query results can be downloaded in CSV format. The current database regroups data per 5-year period and shows for each variable the value for the most recent year during that period, if available. For example, if for the period 1998-2002 data are available for the year 1999 and for the year 2001, then the value for the year 2001 is shown. It should be noted however that for most variables no time series can be made available yet, due to lack of sufficient data.

The following databases are available in AQUASTAT:

  • AQUASTAT main country database - Contains data on over 70 variables, searchable by country or by region per 5-year period.
  • Geo-referenced database on African dams - Contains geo-referenced information on around 1300 dams in the 53 countries of the African continent.
  • Institutions - Contains around 650 institutions, searchable by country, by type of institution, by main activity, or by keword.
  • River sediment yields - Contains data on annual sediment yields in rivers and reservoirs around the world, searchable by river, by country and by continent.
  • Water-related investment envelopes and project portfolios for Africa - Contains country surveys prepared for the Sirte Conference on water for agriculture and energy in Africa, Sirte, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, 15-17 December 2008.
  • Investment costs in irrigation - Contains information on irrigation investment costs for 248 irrigation projects around the world.

Rights

Your access to AQUASTAT and use of any of its information or data is subject to the terms and conditions laid down in the User Agreement.

Coverage

1958-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.