Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000431

    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Archive Finder C19 from Chadwyck-Healey

Archive Finder is a current directory of almost 5600 repositories and over 150,000 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archive Finder, researchers can read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains over 60,000 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials including Special Collections at Virginia Tech.

Archive Finder draws from three major information sources:

  • Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS)
  • National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
  • National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS)

Primary source material represented includes:

  • Collections of original manuscript materials such as family papers, personal papers, and collections about a person or subject. This can include printed material, maps, and photographs if it is part of a larger manuscript or archival collection.
  • Single item manuscripts such as diaries, logbooks, account books, or letters
  • Collections of private company or government archives provided that they are regularly available to the public
  • Collections consisting entirely of handwritten, typewritten, or photo-reproduced copies of manuscripts or archives
  • Oral history records consisting of tapes and/or transcripts of interviews.

Collection descriptions are submitted to Archive Finder by archivists at contributing repositories. There are a growing number of links to online finding aids, and new collection and repository information is added on an ongoing basis. Collection information includes detailed NUCMC and NIDS subject indexing.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.