Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000017

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Aquaculture Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps.

Information essential to all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture is covered in ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts. This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information. Focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields, the records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. All types of source documents are surveyed to provide international perspectives on the science, practice, management, and economics of aquaculture. References from related disciplines - such as water pollution, ecology, diseases, nutrition, oceanography, and limnology - are also scanned for relevant material directly applicable to aquacultural situations. Information on instruments, technological developments, culturing techniques, and new methods of husbandry are significant features.

Major areas of coverage include:

  • Aquaculture management and economics
  • Growth and development of cultured species
  • Techniques, equipment, methodology, feasibility studies, replenishing natural stocks, and laboratory culture
  • Culture of fish and other vertebrates
  • Crustaceans, mollusks, and other invertebrates
  • Aquatic plants and algae
  • Protozoa and microorganisms
  • Reproductive biology
  • Biotechnology

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1984-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.