Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000014

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps.

All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues. Since natural resources are an important feature of ASFA 1, fisheries receive particular attention, with comprehensive sections that put scientists and managers in touch with the latest fishing methods, statistics, aquaculture, food technology, productivity, conservation, and marketing.

Abstracts cover laboratory studies of aquatic organisms as well as research in the field. All types of source documents dealing with aquatic organisms and issues that affect their environment are surveyed. And the journal's hierarchic subject classification, with multiple indexes, makes it easy to locate specific information.

Major areas of coverage include:

  • General Aspects
  • Law, Policy, Economics, and Social Sciences
  • Biology: General
  • Microbiology
  • Botany
  • Invertebrate Biology: General
  • Malacology
  • Carcinology
  • Entomology
  • Chordate Biology: General
  • Ichthyology
  • Ornithology
  • Mammalogy
  • Ecology and Ecosystems: Aquatic Ecology
  • Autecology
  • Population Studies
  • Aquatic Communities
  • Productivity, Ecosystems, Species Interactions
  • Fouling and Boring
  • Fisheries: Practical Aspects of Fisheries
  • Aquaculture
  • Fishable Stocks
  • Aquatic Products and their Utilization
  • Marketing and Economics of Aquatic products

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1971-present. Note: These are several hundred records published before 1971.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.