Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000015

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of oceanography, ocean engineering, social sciences including international policy, and economics topics like trade and commerce. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps.

In the wake of growing concern over limited natural resources, scientists and engineers are increasingly turning to the sea for answers. ASFA 2 is the source that puts professionals in touch with effective management solutions, alerts them to problems, and updates them on new legislation that affects management practices. Coverage spans the wide-ranging fields of oceanography: physical, descriptive, dynamical, chemical, geological, and biological aspects are extensively examined, as well as limnology, ocean engineering, and specific resources. From international policy and legislation to meteorology and climatology to technology and engineering, ASFA 2 covers the crucial current issues.

Major areas of coverage include:

  • Law, Policy, Economics, and Social Sciences
  • Descriptive Oceanography and Limnology
  • Dynamical Oceanography and Limnology
  • Chemistry and Geochemistry
  • Underwater Acoustics
  • Underwater Optics
  • Marine Meteorology and Climatology
  • Geology and Geophysics
  • Marine Technology
  • Vessels, Underwater Vehicles, and Buoys
  • Offshore and Coastal Structures
  • Man-in-the-Sea and Diving
  • Support Services, Techniques, and Equipment
  • Resources
  • Commerce, Trade, and Economics

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1971-present. Note: These are several hundred records published before 1971.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.