Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America describes more than 1,200 animals and plants that occur in North America both within and outside the boundaries of the United States of America. These volumes cover species that were identified before April 2000 by the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) as either Endangered or Threatened. This set of books supercedes and updates The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to the Endangered Species of North America, which was published by Beacham Publishing, Inc., in 1990-94.

The species described herein have been identified as Endangered or Threatened by the FWS. Inclusion on the federal list prohibits any governmental agency from initiating or funding activities that might have adverse impacts on an endangered or threatened species (such as activities that cause habitat degradation). Also, the importation and sale of these endangered species or any derived products is restricted within the boundaries of the United States.

The species are arranged taxonomically. Volume 1 includes mammals, birds, and reptiles; amphibians, fishes, snails, and mussels and clams are in volume 2; in volume 3 are arachnids and crustaceans, insects, lichens, fern allies, true ferns, and conifers; dicots can be found at the end of volume 3 and in volumes 4, 5, and 6; monocots are in volume 6. Each species account begins with the species' common and scientific names. Most entries will also include one or more full-color images of the species described. Following this, the user will find a Summary section, which outlines the key information found within the species account. Within this section is found: the species' status as determined by the FWS; the date listed by the FWS; the family to which the species belongs; and brief descriptions of the following (if applicable or known): physical description, habitat, food, reproduction, threats, and the range of states, countries, or geographical regions in which the species occurs.

The main body of each species account begins with the Description section, which provides a general description of the plant's or animal's physical characteristics.

Behavior describes reproductive information, social organization and behavior, and dietary preferences and requirements.

Habitat describes the species' preferred habitat.

Distribution describes where the species can be currently found and where the species may have been found in the past.

Threats describes the natural or human-made events which have led to the decline of the species' population, and potential threats.

Conservation and Recovery describes conservation efforts and the survival outlook for the species.

Contacts lists street addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, and web addresses for organizations which can be of assistance to the researcher.

In the References section are sources that the user can use to gain more information on the species.

he Glossary provides definitions of specialized terms used throughout the text of the book.

The Organizations appendix lists agencies that focus on environmental and wildlife issues.

The Geographic Index is organized by country, body of water, or other geographical area, and arranges species alphabetically within each geographical division.

The Master Index lists the species alphabetically by common name and by scientific name, with references to its nominal counterpart, and also includes variant common and scientific names.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.