Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000503

    Bibliography of Asian Studies
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)

This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat from FirstSearch .

The online BAS contains the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997), as well as hundreds of thousands of entries compiled since then. To quickly bridge the gap in coverage from 1991 to the present, the BAS staff has identified the most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies, and has sought to index them on a priority basis in order to keep their coverage as up-to-date as possible. Full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function. Various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779), thereby increasing the coverage of the BAS to include new and previously-excluded journals as well as eliminating gaps in the coverage of previously indexed periodicals.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1971-present (no book records have been added since 1992)

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.