Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Biosystems Database from NLM

A biosystem, or biological system, is a group of molecules that interact in a biological system. One type of biosystem is a biological pathway, which can consist of interacting genes, proteins, and small molecules. Another type of biosystem is a disease, which can involve components such as genes, biomarkers, and drugs.

A number of databases, such as KEGG, BioCyc, Reactome, and the Pathway Interaction Database provide diagrams showing the components and products of biological pathways along with corresponding annotations and links to literature. The NCBI BioSystems Database was developed as a complementary project to (1) serve as a centralized repository of data; (2) connect the biosystem records with associated literature, molecular, and chemical data throughout the Entrez system; and (3) facilitate computation on biosystems data.

The NCBI BioSystems record for arachidonic acid metabolism, for example, displays the name and description of the biosystem along with a thumbnail image of the pathway diagram that links to the full size illustration on the source database's web site. In addition, the BioSystems record lists and categorizes the genes, proteins, and small molecules involved in the biological system, along with related biosystems and citations, and allows instant retrieval of the those data sets through a wide range of Links. Integrating the data in this way makes it possible to search across all the pathways to answer broad questions such as the "how to" examples shown below. The companion FLink icon FLink tool, in turn, allows you to input a list of proteins, genes, or small molecules and retrieve a ranked list of biosystems.

The NCBI BioSystems Database currently contains biological pathways from four sources: KEGG, BioCyc (including its Tier 1 EcoCyc and MetaCyc databases, and its Tier 2 databases), Reactome, and the National Cancer Institute's Pathway Interaction Database. It is also designed to accommodate other types of biosystems such as diseases as data about them become available. Through these collaborations, the BioSystems database facilitates access to, and provides the ability to compute on, a wide range of biosystems data. Detailed diagrams and annotations for individual biosystems are then available on the web sites of the source databases.

How to use the BioSystems database:

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.