Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001676

    Black Studies Center
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Black Studies Center from ProQuest

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases:

Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the black experience. This unique database examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analyzed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields. Also included are reference textbooks Handbook of African American Literature and Encyclopedia of African Literature.
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
IIBP includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core black studies periodicals. Most IIBP records in the current coverage contain an abstract, and additionally many IIBP records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the black studies discipline.
The Chicago Defender
BSC provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender. Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.
Black Literature Index
Black Studies Center includes the electronic index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
The HistoryMakers®
The HistoryMakers® collection in Black Studies Center is an archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans who have shaped modern history. The archive represents the direct voices of a diverse group of African Americans who have made significant contributions to history and politics, education, law, the creative arts, science and medicine, business, the military, and sports.
ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies
The ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies module contains a thousand doctoral dissertations and Masters' theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to black studies. Included are dissertations written between 1970 and 2004 at over 100 universities and colleges across the United States. These dissertations were selected for their relevance to black studies scholars from the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database.
ProQuest Black Newspapers
Several black newspapers with extensive content, viewable by article or page.
  • Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
  • Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1986)
  • Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
  • Daily Defender (1956-1975)
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1994)
  • Norfolk New Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  • Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Black Abolitionist Papers
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1927-present

Date

February 26, 2014


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.