A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
Bacteriology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, conference papers, and patents that cover the biological, medical, environmental, and genetic aspects of bacteria. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on more than 1200 animals and plants that occur in North America that were identified before 2004 by the Fish and Wildlife Service as endangered or threatened. Most entries will also include one or more full-color images of the species described.
Best's Library Center provides full-text insurance reports, credit reports, and other in-depth insurance industry information and statistics.
The Biafran War Database indexes full-text items from newspapers, photographs, interviews, archival materials, declassified intelligence reports, and theses and dissertations on the Nigerian conflict. Documents available in PDF and audio files as MP3. 1968-present.
BAS indexes citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the social science and humanities aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asia. The "Find it @ your library" button connects to Get VText. 1971-present.
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 provides a browsable and searchable bibliography that includes catalogs, contextual studies (i.e., studies providing extended narrative or analysis), reference works (i.e., compendia of entries), anthologies of essays, special issues of journals, genre studies, handbooks and pedagogical tools, compilations containing primary sources, and dissertations. No full text documents are provided, nor links to sources for these documents. 1500-present.
Includes two databases: BHA (Bibliography on the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art). This database indexes citations from journal articles, books, conference papers, exhibition catalogs, and exhibition reviews. 1975-2007.
Search or browse across 26 bilingual dictionaries for French, German, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh.
BHL contains scanned, historic, biological literature from major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions: books, journals, and more. Content can be downloaded as PDF, ASCII, or just the images contained within the object. 1480-present.
Biography Index Retrospective indexes citations of biographical articles and book chapters, interviews and profiles, and obituaries covering over 300,000 people: public figures, writers, artists, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, and business people. 1946-1983.
Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.
Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
BioMed Central is an open access publisher of science, technology, and medicine journals. All content is peer reviewed and is available as HTML and PDF. While browsing content is free, searching content requires registration. Our institutional membership provides authors a 15% discount on article processing charges.
The BioOne collections 1 and 2 contain over 150 bioscience research journals. The link above allows you to search any or all of the BioOne publications and to access the full text of articles. You may also view a list and connect directly to individual titles within these collections. Content is available as HTML and PDF. 1998-present.
An index of abstracts of the journals published by BioOne , which cover all aspects of biosciences. (The BioOne site allows full-text searching.) You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1998-present.
The BioSystems Database provides data and reports on biological pathways. A biosystem, or biological system, is a group of molecules that interact in a biological system. One type of biosystem is a biological pathway, which can consist of interacting genes, proteins, and small molecules. Another type of biosystem is a disease, which can involve components such as genes, biomarkers, and drugs.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts in medicine, agriculture, and engineering related journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government reports on the agricultural, medical, and environmental aspects of biotechnology and bioengineering . You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1980s-present.
Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds with detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. This is an updated online version of the print series of the same name. Each encyclopedic entry includes a list of references and may include images, audio, and video.
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on selective works of African American literature, including works of African and Carribean authors. Entries include biographical data, overviews of literary interests, summaries of works, and critical commentary. Many entries include an author portrait.
Search or browse the Federal/Foreign Tax Library, with sections on expert analysis (portfolios), news and developments, journals and special reports, primary sources, laws and regulations, and practice tools. Replaces print versions of Tax Management Portfolios and Tax Management Primary Sources. The State Tax Library portion of the database is not part of the library's subscription, so these links will not work. Limited to simultaenous users.
Reviews published in newspapers, magazines, trade publications, news program transcripts, and major websites from around the world. 1980-present.
Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. 1905-present.
Contains nearly nine million titles available in the U.S. and Canada and Whitaker's British Books In Print database of titles available in the U.K., Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. Includes tables of contents, first chapters, reviews, author biographies, and more.
British Periodicals is a collection of digitized periodicals covering the humanities, performing arts, history, science, architecture, and especially literature. Documents are available as high-resolution images and downloadable PDFs. Browse individual journals or search across the collection. All content is indexed, including advertising. Searches can be limited to multimedia types, including maps, illustrations, comics, photos, and music scores. 1681-1939.
BuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.
Business & Industry is a citation and abstracts database that focuses on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets. It covers all industries and is international in scope. Business & Industry draws content from trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies, and newsletters. 1992-present.
Business & Management Practices indexes citations and abstracts from professional and trade journals and newspapers on practical approaches to management processes and methods. Business & Management Practices focuses on real-life applications, case studies, and explicit "how-to" guidelines. 1992-present.
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple business and economics databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1969-present.
Business Environment Reports provides HTML industry reports that look at various causes of change in industry performance. Some data tables can be downloaded as Excel files.
Search any combination of these three databases:
1992-present.
Business Source Complete is a citation, abstracts, and full-text database that indexes journals; books; financial data; reference works; conference proceedings; company, industry, investment, marketing, and country reports; SWOT analyses; and case studies. Full text is provides as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1886-present; most content is 1980s-present.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.