Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000144

    CAB
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only  Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

CAB Abstracts gives researchers instant access to over 6 million records from 1973 onwards (and CAB Abstracts Archive includes records from 1913 to 1972), with over 300,000 abstracts added each year. Its coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.

CAB Abstracts processes all relevant publications, including less well-known and non-English journals and those published by independent and learned publishers. With publications from over 150 countries in 50 languages, including English abstracts for most articles, researchers get the fullest global picture for any subject.

Each record has been hand-selected by our subject specialists from over 9,000 serials, books and conference proceedings, ensuring unparalleled coverage.

Coverage

Agricultural engineering

  • Agricultural and horticultural machinery
  • Implements, equipment and buildings
  • Design, construction, selection and operation and control
  • Effects on crops, livestock and soil

Applied economics and sociology

  • Policy formation
  • Development programmes
  • The economics of the food industry
  • Natural resources utilization
  • Farm management
  • Aspects of education and research
  • Rural sociology

Animal production

  • Breeding and genetics of animals of economic importance
  • Animal production
  • Animal nutrition
  • Animal biotechnology
  • Aquaculture
  • Dairy science and technology

Animal health

  • All aspects of veterinary medicine
  • Animal welfare and behaviour
  • Zoonoses
  • Food safety (of meat and milk, including meat inspection)

Animal nutrition

Nutrition, feeding and metabolism of farm animals, companion animals, equine, zoo and game animals

Aquaculture

Production, feeding, husbandry, breeding, genetics and health of cultured fish, crustaceans, molluscs, and other aquaculture species

Biofuels

  • Production and processing of energy crops into biodiesel or fuel ethanol
  • Energy forestry
  • Biogas production from livestock wastes and agricultural residues
  • Fermentation technology
  • Energy policy
  • Economics and landuse issues

Biosafety and Bioterrorism

Biosafety issues associated with introduction of transgenic organisms, including:

  • Environmental impact and food safety issues
  • Regulations, treaties and trade
  • Issues related to Agricultural chemicals and laboratory techniques
  • Detection and prevention of bioterrorism
  • Pathogens affecting humans and agricultural organisms

Biotechnology

The application of molecular genetics, genetic engineering and in vitro culture to organisms of agricultural importance, with an emphasis on:

  • Methodology
  • Studies of agriculturally useful traits
  • Applications of biotechnology for traditional animal and plant breeding
  • Economic, planning and policy aspects
  • Biosafety
  • GM food, legal and social issues

Breeding

All aspects of breeding and genetics of animals and plants using traditional approaches and modern techniques, including:

  • Use of genetic resources in breeding
  • Breeders' rights
  • Reproduction
  • Evolution and domestication

Chemistry

  • Pesticides
  • Adjuvants
  • Botanical pesticides
  • Biochemistry of pest organisms
  • Biocontrol
  • Farmed animals and plants
  • Biofuels
  • Chemistry of soils, fertilizers, freshwater and waste water
  • Nutritional biochemistry

Climate change

The effect of climate change on natural resources, covering:

  • Crop production, pests and diseases
  • Animal health and production
  • Human health
  • Agro-economic aspects such as rural development and demography
  • Tourism
  • The production and processing of bio-fuels
  • Microbiology fermentation
  • Energy co-generation in the sugar industry

Crop science and grasslands

All aspects relating to field and forage crops including:

  • Genetics and breeding
  • Taxonomy
  • Botany
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Propagation
  • Production
  • Management and storage
  • Grassland and rangeland ecology, management and sustainability

Ecotourism

  • Sustainable tourism development
  • Tourism for development and poverty alleviation in developing countries
  • Environmental management systems
  • Environmental impact of tourism and tourist facilities
  • Nature conservation
  • Resource use

Entomology

  • Taxonomy
  • Genetics
  • Behaviour
  • Morphology
  • Physiology
  • Control of insects and other arthropods of medical, veterinary or agricultural importance

Environmental science

  • Environment
  • Biodiversity and ecology, including soil science, water resources, organic farming, forestry and integrated crop management
  • Environmental pollution and remediation
  • Issues relating to the conservation of land, forest and soils
  • Biological and genetic resources
  • Climate change effects
  • Nature conservation

Food science and technology

Entire food chain – from farm to fork and beyond including:

  • Composition
  • Quality control
  • Processing
  • Analytical methodologies
  • Safety
  • Hygiene
  • Effect on human health
  • Technology
  • Legislation

Forestry

All aspects of global forest and wood science research, including:

  • Silviculture and forest management
  • Tree biology
  • Forest ecology
  • Agroforestry
  • Logging
  • Wood anatomy
  • Wood technology
  • International trade of timber and non-wood forest products

Genetics

Genetics of organisms of agricultural or economic significance and wild relatives, covering:

  • Molecular genetics
  • Cytogenetics
  • Population genetics
  • Genomics
  • Nutrigenomics
  • Prevalence of genetic risk factors and susceptibility genes in humans

Helminthology

All aspects of medical and veterinary helminthology of these parasites, including:

  • Genetics
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Ecology
  • Pathology
  • Immunobiology
  • Epidemiology and transmission
  • Life cycle
  • Vectors
  • Treatment and control and scientific techniques

Horticultural science

All aspects of horticultural science, including:

  • Genetic resources
  • Breeding
  • Biology
  • Propagation
  • Pests, diseases
  • Crop management
  • Growth models
  • Environmental physiology
  • Postharvest treatment
  • Crop quality
  • Marketing and economics of horticultural crops

Human nutrition

  • Physiology and biochemistry of all nutrients
  • Analytical methodologies
  • Public health nutrition
  • Sports nutrition
  • Nutrition education
  • Dietary surveys
  • Reproduction and diet
  • Human growth
  • Infant feeding
  • Ageing
  • Nutritional status
  • Clinical nutrition

Invasive species

All invasive plants and cyanobacteria or animals of veterinary importance and any invasive animal (including many insects and other arthropods, rodents, feral goats and other mammals) that affect the following:

  • Crops
  • Forest trees
  • Stored agricultural products
  • Timbers
  • Grasslands
  • Soils
  • Water supplies
  • Human health

Leisure and tourism

Social, economic and environmental impacts of activities, products and services in: 

  • Leisure, recreation, sport and tourism and travel

Medicinal plants and pharmacology

  • Botany
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Propagation and cultivation of medicinal plants
  • Pharmacological papers on plant constituents and herbal drugs

Microbiology

  • Veterinary microbiology
  • Plant pathogens
  • Mycorrhizas
  • Soil microbiology
  • Forest microbiology
  • Food microbiology
  • Microbiology related to water pollution
  • Toxinogenic fungi
  • Mycotoxins and other toxins
  • Animal vaccines
  • Microrganisms of veterinary and cultural importance including their:
    • Taxonomy
    • Ecology
    • Biochemistry
    • Genetics

Mycology

  • Molecular genetics
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry and systematics
  • All aspects of mycoses in both humans and animals including:
    • Pathology
    • Epidemiology
    • Immunology
    • Diagnosis
    • Therapy

Natural resources, land/water management

All aspects of soil science and management and all aspects of land resources management including:

  • Fertilizers
  • Earth sciences
  • Environmental pollution
  • Remediation aspects
  • Water resources and their management in terms of agriculture
  • Water supply in relation to factors such as climate change
  • Issues relating to the conservation of:
    • Land
    • Forest
    • Soil
    • Biological and genetic resources
    • Nature and habitat

Nematology

  • Plant nematode diseases
  • Other nematodes and hosts
  • Biology
  • Ecology
  • Control
  • Nematicides
  • Nematodes as genetic models
  • Techniques
  • Equipment and machinery
  • Economics
  • Extension
  • Education

Organic and sustainable agriculture

Organic and sustainable crop production and animal husbandry including:

  • Soil fertility management
  • Composting
  • Pest control
  • Organic methods of animal healthcare
  • Low input and traditional farming systems
  • Environmental impacts of farming and organic foods

Parasitology

Medical and veterinary parasitic diseases and vectors and vector-borne diseases, which includes many of the most important tropical diseases. Complete coverage of host organisms, taxonomy, biology and control.

Plant pathology

All types of plant pathogens including:

  • Diseases of all crops
  • Forest trees
  • Weeds and wild plants
  • Pathogen biology
  • Mycotoxins
  • Plant disease control
  • Fungicides
  • Techniques, equipment and economics

Plant protection

Comprehensive coverage of the control and management of pests, weeds, parasites and pathogens, including:

  • Chemical control (all aspects of pesticides)
  • Biological control
  • Cultural and physical control
  • Integrated pest management
  • Pest/disease resistance
  • Pest surveys
  • Quarantine control equipment
  • All organisms that harm crops, stored products, forest trees and timber

Postharvest

All aspects of postharvest research, from harvesting the crop up to the initial stages of processing.

Protozoology

  • Taxonomy
  • Morphology
  • Molecular genetics
  • Physiology
  • Host relationships,
  • Clinical aspects of protozoal infections of medical and veterinary importance including immunobiology, treatment and control of the diseases and their vectors.

Soil science

All aspects of soil science including soil properties, soil management including:

  • Classification and formation
  • Soil conservation
  • Irrigation and drainage
  • Fertilizer technology

Veterinary medicine

Comprehensive coverage of veterinary medicine (food animals, pets, sport horses, zoo and wild animals), including:

  • Veterinary pharmacology
  • Surgery
  • Diagnosis
  • Immunology
  • Veterinary public health

Virology

  • Phage and fungal viruses related to animal and plants
  • Pathogens Viruses of agricultural and forestry species
  • Animal viruses and viral infections of veterinary interest
  • Insect viruses where there is potential for biological control and plant viruses carried by insects.

Waste management

  • Biological, chemical and physical treatment of water and agricultural wastes
  • The use (including genetic manipulation of) microorganisms for the breakdown of specific compounds
  • Reclamation and bioremediation of polluted lands, soil and freshwater pollution from natural and manmade sources

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1910s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.