Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    California Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible

California Digital Library eScholarship Editions ebooks

UC Press E-Books Collection is managed by the Publishing Group at the California Digital Library. As one of the University of California libraries, the CDL supports the assembly and creative use of the world's scholarship and knowledge for the UC libraries and the communities they serve. The Publishing Group program facilitates innovation and experimentation in the production and dissemination of scholarly works.

Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books have been published online at the UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, web site. All ebooks in the collection are available for free to UC faculty, staff, and students. Additionally, more than 25 percent of the books are available for free to the public (including Virginia Tech users).

eScholarship utilizes an XML- and Java-based infrastructure to support the publication of electronic books that are user-friendly, flexible, and viable for the long term. This infrastructure provides a full range of services for researchers, scholars, teachers, and readers, including full-text searching and internal links to footnote and index references.

Rights

What are public access books?

Public means the book is available online to everyone, everywhere. Some books are restricted to University of California faculty, staff, and students only. Books that are available to everyone will have a Public icon icon. This does NOT mean that the book is in the public domain - only that anyone can access it. The book is still under copyright to the University of California Press.

Coverage

1982-2004

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.