Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Canadian Patents database (CIPO)
This resource is freely accessible

Canadian Patents database (CIPO)

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), a Special Operating Agency (SOA) associated with Industry Canada, is responsible for the administration and processing of the greater part of intellectual property in Canada. CIPO's areas of activity include:

  • Patents cover new inventions (process, machine, manufacture, composition of matter), or any new and useful improvement of an existing invention;
  • Trade-marks are words, symbols or designs (or a combination of these), used to distinguish the wares or services of one person or organization from those of others in the marketplace;
  • Copyrights provide protection for artistic, dramatic, musical or literary works (including computer programs), and three other subject-matter known as: performance, sound recording and communication signal;
  • Industrial designs are the visual features of shape, configuration, pattern or ornament (or any combination of these features), applied to a finished article of manufacture;
  • Integrated circuit topographies refer to the three-dimensional configurations of electronic circuits embodied in integrated circuit products or layout designs.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) manages another type of intellectual property.

Rights

The Canadian Patents Database is intended for use by the general public. Due to limitations of equipment and bandwidth, it is not intended to be a source for bulk downloads of Canadian patents data. Bulk data may be purchased from CIPO by contacting the Client Service Centre.

Clients who, in effect, deny service to the general public by generating unusually high numbers (1000 or more) of daily database accesses may be denied access to the Canadian Patents Database server without further notice.

Coverage

1869-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.