Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    CareerShift
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

CareerShift from VT Career Services

CareerShift offers the most comprehensive online resource, designed to support the #1 request of job-seekers: an easy-to-use web site to conduct and organize your job search.

CareerShift’s set of tools and applications provide a very unique opportunity to job-hunters. While other web services provide bits and pieces of the job hunt process, only CareerShift provides an easy-to-use approach for bringing all these parts together to crack the “hidden job market” and for managing the job hunt all in one place. With CareerShift, you can:

  • Search and store jobs from all the major job boards, company websites, newspapers and anywhere else a job is posted on the Internet.
  • Get inside contact information immediately, including email addresses, for millions of companies, even alumni, then save and manage your lists.
  • Upload, copy and paste as many targeted resumes and cover letters needed or upload your current documents.
  • Work with Career Services to create unlimited email campaigns with your saved contacts, resumes and cover letters. You can choose to send your lists to yourself for a postal campaign.
  • Campaigns are automatically saved and recorded. In MY CALENDAR, you can keep notes, and set reminders for follow-ups.
  • Access your confidential CareerShift account from anywhere, anytime, 24/7.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.