Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000154

    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

CARIS from FAO

CARIS is the Current Agricultural Research Information System. It was created by FAO in 1975 to identify and to facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in - or on behalf of - developing countries. An international system, working on a cooperative basis, CARIS identifies projects dealing with all aspects of agriculture: plant and animal production and protection; post harvest processing of primary agricultural products; forestry; fisheries; agricultural engineering; natural resources and the environment as related to agriculture; food and human nutrition; agricultural economics; rural development, and agricultural administration; legislation, information, education and extension.

137 national and 19 international and intergovernmental centres participate in CARIS. Centres have submitted exhaustive information on roughly 30,000 currently active projects. In addition, two regional centres submit input on behalf of 6 countries in their respective regions.

Topics include: 

  • plant and animal production and protection
  • post harvest processing of primary agricultural products
  • forestry
  • fisheries
  • agricultural engineering
  • natural resources and the environment as related to agriculture
  • food and human nutrition
  • agricultural economics
  • rural development
  • agricultural administration

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1975-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.