Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000845

    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)

Catalog of newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives and other resources for research, which VT users borrow through ILLiad and, in some cases, access online. See also "topic guides." VT does NOT subscribe to all CRL "e-collections." CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries, including Virginia Tech, for preserving and sharing rare or unusual works.

CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Current acquisitions emphasize materials produced outside the United States, especially publications and archives from developing regions. CRL's Area Microform Projects are important sources of this material.

Archives

Millions of pages of documents, primarily from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and the National Archive of the United Kingdom, in addition to many special collections of archival and primary source material such as the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's notorious Khmer Rouge regime.

Dissertations

800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold, and other Nobel laureates) from universities outside the U.S. and Canada. CRL acquired the majority of the collection through deposit from member libraries. CRL continues to acquire about 5,000 titles per year from major universities through demand purchase and deposit.

Government documents

  • Foreign government documents: several hundred thousand volumes of publications from the government agencies of more than 100 countries, including more than 1,750 official gazettes.
  • U. S. State Documents: more than a half million volumes of deposited and purchased monographic and serial publications of the U. S. state governments, including financial reports and research studies through 1950. CRL also maintains a collection of legislative journals through 1990.

Monographs

More than 500,000 monographs in all formats and subject areas.

Newspapers

More than 10,000 titles from most countries of the world and every state in the U.S., including over 1,800 U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American newspapers.

Serials

66,500 serials, including a large collection of U.S. trade journals from the late 19th century through the mid-2oth century; journals on science, medicine, technology, agriculture, and textiles in South and South East Asia; and journals from the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Collections based on type of material primarily acquired through deposit by member libraries include:

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Related Links

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.