Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine
This resource is freely accessible

CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine

CiteSeerx is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Rather than creating just another digital library, CiteSeerx attempts to provide resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries. CiteSeerx has developed new methods and algorithms to index PostScript and PDF research articles on the Web. Citeseerx provides the following features.

Autonomous Citation Indexing (ACI)
CiteSeer uses ACI to automatically create a citation index that can be used for literature search and evaluation. Compared to traditional citation indices, ACI provides improvements in cost, availability, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness.
Citation statistics
CiteSeer computes citation statistics and related documents for all articles cited in the database, not just the indexed articles.
Reference linkingAs with many online publishers, CiteSeer allows browsing the database using citation links. However, CiteSeer performs this automatically.
Citation context
CiteSeer can show the context of citations to a given paper, allowing a researcher to quickly and easily see what other researchers have to say about an article of interest.
Awareness and tracking
CiteSeer provides automatic notification of new citations to given papers, and new papers matching a user profile.
Related documents
CiteSeer locates related documents using citation and word based measures and displays an active and continuously updated bibliography for each document.
Full-text indexing
CiteSeer indexes the full-text of the entire articles and citations. Full boolean, phrase and proximity search is supported.
Query-sensitive summaries
CiteSeer provides the context of how query terms are used in articles instead of a generic summary, improving the efficiency of search.
Up-to-date
CiteSeer is regularly updated based on user submissions and regular crawls.
Powerful search
CiteSeer uses fielded search to all complex queries over content, and allows the use of author initials to provide more flexible name search.
Harvesting of articles
CiteSeer automatically harvests research papers from the Web.
Metadata of articles
CiteSeer automatically extracts and provides metadata from all indexed articles.
Personal Content Portal
Personal collections, RSS-like notifications, social bookmarking, social network facilities. Personalized search settings. Institutional data tracking possible. Transparent document submission system.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.