Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    University of North Texas
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Congressional Research Service Reports from the UNT Libraries

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.

The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.

About the Congressional Research Service

CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress. This legislative branch agency works exclusively for Members of Congress, their committees and their staffs. For more information, visit the CRS website.

About this project

The NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds award was given to Cathy Nelson Hartman and Valerie D. Glenn in the summer of 2002, to begin the process of capturing Congressional Research Service reports available via the Internet and provide permanent public access to them.

Reports were downloaded from a variety of web sites that host CRS reports, either currently or in the past. Many CRS reports are updated on a regular basis, and this site includes all versions of the reports that could be located. When HTML files were captured, a note was inserted at the top of the report indicating from where the files were downloaded. To prevent the need for constant maintenance of files, most external links have been removed.

Metadata has been created for each report, including subject terms from the Legislative Indexing Vocabulary, supplemented with Library of Congress Subject Headings. Users have the ability to search by keyword, title, author, subject, and report number.

Rights

Copyright statement

The contents of the UNT Digital Library are made publicly available by our contributing partners for use in research, teaching, and private study.

Although the nature of archival and manuscript collections sometimes makes it difficult to determine the copyright status of an item, it is your responsibility to use it according to all applicable terms. Please contact the contributing partner for additional information regarding copyright status of a particular digital image, text, data set, or sound or video recording.

Conditions of use

By using the digital images, texts, data sets, audio and video recordings, and other materials in the Digital Library, you agree to follow these conditions of use:

  • Responsibility for any use of these materials rests exclusively with the user.

  • Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). In addition, the reproduction of some materials may be restricted by terms of gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing and trademarks. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by copyright law requires the written permission of the copyright owners.

  • When using items from the UNT Digital Library, please give proper credit to the contributing partner and the Digital Library.

Access

Due to licensing agreements and/or university policies, some materials in the UNT Digital Library are available only to members of the UNT community. Depending upon the degree of restriction, you may need to log in with your UNT EUID to view or listen to the restricted item. In very rare instances the restriction may require use within the Libraries' buildings.

Coverage

1976-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.