Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    CONSULTANT from Cornell University
This resource is freely accessible

CONSULTANT from Cornell University

CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including:   

  1. a general description
  2. species affected
  3. the signs associated with it
  4. a list of recent literature references

CONSULTANT is supported by a database consisting of hundreds of signs, thousands of diagnoses/causes, and tens of thousands of literature references.

CONSULTANT can be used in one of two basic modes by clicking the appropriate menu option or link in the header:  Search by Diagnosis or Search by Signs.  In the Diagnosis mode you can search for a specific diagnosis based on a species and one or more diagnosis keywords.   In the Sign mode you can search for possible diagnoses based on a species and one or more signs (specified using a keyword search or by picking from a list.)  When either search finishes, you can display the synopsis of any of the "found" diagnoses.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.