Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences.

Rights

Mann Library is offering broad public access to many of the most important publications of historical agriculture and rural life in its collections. Access is intended to benefit education, research and scholarship. Some materials in these collections may be protected by U.S. Copyright Law ( Title 17, U.S.C. ) and/or by the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations. Additionally, the reproduction of some materials may be restricted by terms of copyright ownership or licensing agreements. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners.

The nature of historical collections is such that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. Whenever possible, Mann Library provides information about copyright owners or other restrictions within each record file. Unless otherwise noted, titles are considered to be in the public domain.

As a publicly supported institution, Mann Library generally does not own rights to material in its collections. Therefore it does not charge permission fees for use of such material and cannot give or deny permission to publish or otherwise distribute material in its collections. It is the obligation of the user to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Mann Library collections.

Mann Library would like to be made aware of any copyright which is not properly identified so that appropriate information may be provided in the future. Please contact us.

Coverage

1620-1999

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.