Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000207

    CQ Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

CQ Press Electronic Library

Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content.

With CQEL, users

  1. may be confident of quality—all content is produced and vetted by scholars, seasoned journalists, and CQ Press editors;
  2. find content and tools to support the entire research process, from identifying a topic, to researching a variety of sources, to developing a bibliography for further research;
  3. access a combination of full-text and analytical database resources, offering an array of data and documents—nineteen different content types in all;
  4. benefit from the balance and judgment of an independent, non-partisan publisher.

Comprising fifteen unique modules but tied by a common platform, CQEL is truly greater than the sum of its parts. The suite includes the online version of the award-winning CQ Researcher, the choice of librarians and researchers for more than eighty years. Also available are four subject-specific reference databases: CQ Press Congress Collection, CQ Press Supreme Court Collection, CQ Press Public Affairs Collection, and CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection, each a destination of its own. With enhanced content and advanced search functionality, CQEL offers online editions of eight essential reference books: California Political Almanac, Congress and the Nation, the Historic Documents series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and the Washington Information Directory. CQEL also includes the foundational reference resource, CQ Press Encyclopedia of American Government; and an online version of CQ Weekly, offering complete coverage of Capitol Hill.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1700s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.