Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Current Research Information System
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

CRIS - Current Research Information System

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, land-grant universities, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in NIFA-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation Research and National Research Initiative, and the programs administered by the NIFA Science and Education Resources Development unit. CRIS is an application of the NIFA Information Systems and Technology Management unit.

CRIS was authorized by the Secretary of Agriculture in 1966 to document the publicly-funded activities of the USDA/State agricultural and forestry research system. Available initially only to researchers, research administrators, and government personnel, the major portion of the database is now available free of charge to all users with access to the Internet. In addition, CRIS now documents a large and increasing number of education and extension activities funded by NIFA.

CRIS projects relating to human nutrition are provided annually to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for inclusion in the Human Nutrition Research and Information Management database (HNRIM). In CRIS these projects are designated as the subfile, "HNRIMS." Updates occur annually, therefore, all human nutrition projects in CRIS may not yet be coded as "HNRIMS."

Participants

Subject coverage

Agricultural and forestry research and education encompasses a broad range of activities including:

  • Management and use of natural resources.
  • Protection of crops and livestock from pests and other hazards.
  • Production management systems for crops, livestock, poultry, and fish.
  • Farm and forest product development and quality improvement.
  • Marketing of crop, animal, and forest products.
  • Foreign trade and market development.
  • Food and human nutrition, health and safety, and consumer protection.
  • Rural, community, and youth development.
  • Family resource management.
  • Fish and wildlife management, outdoor recreation, and environmental quality.
  • Agricultural education and outreach.

Description of work

A CRIS work unit documents a defined activity at a single location. The work focuses on a clearly definable problem, a manageable phase of a larger problem, or a few closely related elements of a broad-based program. Each documented activity includes information on:

  • WHAT is being done,
  • WHO is doing it,
  • WHERE it is being conducted,
  • WHEN it is performed,
  • PROGRESS achieved,
  • IMPACT expected, and
  • PUBLICATIONS produced.

Why Use CRIS?

The mission of CRIS is to document the research and education activities of the USDA/State agricultural research and education system for various reporting purposes, as well as to provide ready access to information which can help users to:

  • keep abreast of the latest developments in agricultural and forestry research and education,
  • plan future activities,
  • avoid costly duplication of publicly-funded work, and
  • establish valuable contacts within the research and education community.

Rights

CRIS provides free, unrestricted access to its public database through its web site.

Coverage

1966-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.