Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000150

    Greenwood (Daily Life Through History)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Daily Life Through History from Greenwood

A collection of encyclopedic articles and primary documents on the Ancient Worlds and Mesoamerica: Mesopotamia, Ancient Greeks, Aztecs, Inca Empire and Maya Civilization, and on England and America: Chaucer's England, Elizabethan England, Civil War America, 19th Century American Frontier, and Victorian England.

Sections: 

  1. Daily Life in Ancient Mesopotamia
  2. Daily Life in Chaucer's England
  3. Daily Life in Civil War America
  4. Daily Life in Elizabethan England
  5. Daily Life in Maya Civilization
  6. Daily Life in the Inca Empire
  7. Daily Life in Victorian England
  8. Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks
  9. Daily Life of the Aztecs: People of the Sun and Earth
  10. Daily Life on the 19th Century American Frontier

Content features include:

  • Six volumes from The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
  • 34 volumes from the critically acclaimed Daily Life through History series
  • 40 volumes from the Histories of the Modern Nations series
  • 53 volumes from the Popular Cultures and Customs series
  • 11 titles from the Food Culture around the World series
  • Six volumes from The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
  • Related history reference works from Greenwood Press
  • Related general nonfiction and monographs from Praeger
  • More than 2,000 color and black-and-white images, illustrations, and maps
  • 50 lesson plans correlated to all national and state standards
  • Thousands of annotated primary documents across all subject areas are presented with a brief introductory paragraph that explains context
  • Tours through Time features
  • CIA World Factbook data is integrated for one-stop ready reference

Daily Life through History is a dynamic resource that provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, it is supported by an active publishing program that ensures an ever-expanding and updated base of content.

With Daily Life Through History, you can... 

  • Rely on robust searching and advanced searching capabilities
  • Benefit from a clear, easy-to-use interface and exceptional site navigability
  • Browse by time period, region, or subject
  • See history up close with more than 1,200 color and black-and-white images
  • Understand historical context with chronologies and timelines
  • Access museums, galleries, and primary source repositories via hundreds of vetted Web links
  • Enjoy a full range of content, from short articles to longer entries
  • Utilize teacher lesson plans, correlated to the National Center for History in the Schools standards

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.