Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001627

    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Data Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets. The records for the datasets, which include authors, institutions, keywords, citations and other metadata, are connected to related peer-reviewed literature indexed in the Web of Knowledge.

Definitions

  • Data repository: a database or collection comprising data studies, data sets and/or microcitations which stores and provides access to the raw data. Constituent data studies, and sometimes individual data sets, are marked up with metadata providing a context for the available raw data.
  • Data study: description of studies or experiments held in repositories with the associated data which have been used in the data study. (Includes serial or longitudinal studies over time). Data studies can be a citable object in the literature and may have cited references attached in their metadata, together with information on such aspects as the principal investigators, funding information, subject terms, geographic coverage etc. The level of metadata provided varies between repositories.
  • Data set: a single or coherent set of data or a data file provided by the repository, as part of a collection, data study or experiment. Data sets may present in a number of file formats and media types: they may be number based files such as spreadsheets, images, video, audio, databases etc. Data sets can be a citable object in the literature and may have cited references attached in their metadata, but more commonly they inherit the metadata of the overall study in which they are used.

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1900-present

Date

June 9, 2013


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.