Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000238

    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) from ICPSR

DSDR provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed. Data sets are available as SAS and SPSS files. See the ICPSR page for more details on using these data sets.

Browse by subject:

Most of the datasets in the DSDR archive are raw data from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. They were originally gathered in research projects and for administrative purposes. DSDR preserves them because they have value for "secondary analysis" - that is, reexamining old data to address new questions or to employ new analytic methods.

Some datasets in the Archive have been used in published studies. You can see a bibliography of these studies by clicking on the "view related literature" link on each study's home page.

Some datasets are protected because there is a risk that the identity of research participants could be disclosed. These datasets are released with special protections. See restricted data and confidentiality. Datasets in which the level of disclosure risk is especially high can be examined only in a special data enclave in the ICPSR office in Ann Arbor. See enclave data.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Related Links

  • Thematic collections from ICPSR

    Over the years, ICPSR has collaborated with a number of funders, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations, to create archives organized around specific topics. These Thematic Collections and the new services created for them bring a dynamism to ICPSR from which the broader social science research community benefits. The funders provide new data, in most cases free to everyone, and this stimulates more research. The funded archives and ICPSR collaborate to build additional infrastructure for effective data use and discovery.

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.