Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

dbGaP Database from NLM

The database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the results of studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Such studies include genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, as well as association between genotype and non-clinical traits. The advent of high-throughput, cost-effective methods for genotyping and sequencing has provided powerful tools that allow for the generation of the massive amount of genotypic data required to make these analyses possible.

dbGaP provides two levels of access - open and controlled - in order to allow broad release of non-sensitive data, while providing oversight and investigator accountability for sensitive data sets involving personal health information. Summaries of studies and the contents of measured variables as well as original study document text are generally available to the public, while access to individual-level data including phenotypic data tables and genotypes require varying levels of authorization.

Studies
'Study' column when browsing studies
Result of a search under the tab 'Studies'
Part of the breadcrumb path of a variable or document
Study documents
Link from 'Browse Studies'
Link under 'Associated Documents' on study report
Result of a search under the tab 'Study Documents'
Phenotypic variables
Link under 'Browse Studies'
Link under 'Associated Variables' on study report
Result of a search under the tab 'Variables'
Genotype-phenotype analyses
Link under 'Associated Analyses' on variable report
Link under 'Associated Analyses' on study report

Please note that this is a general description of what is available to open- access users. Data available to open-access users may vary between studies and may also differ from what is described here without notice. You can find more details regarding data access policies for specific studies on the individual study report pages.

Controlled access data

Controlled-access data can only be obtained if a user has been authorized by the appropriate Data Access Committee (DAC). Information on requesting controlled data access, is available below. Data available to authorized investigators may include the following:

  • de-identified phenotypes and genotypes for individual study subjects
  • pedigrees
  • pre-computed univariate associations between genotype and phenotype (if not made available on the public site)

Since data access policies are determined on a per-study basis, data available to users with controlled access authorization may vary between studies and may also change from what is described here without notice. You can find more details regarding data access policies for a specific study on the study report page along with a link to the appropriate authorizing body.

Requesting controlled access data

Access to controlled data in dbGaP will be granted by an NIH Data Access Committee or DAC. Users wishing access to controlled data must submit a Data Use Certification, or DUC, to the appropriate NIH DAC for approval. DAC approval for controlled data access will be dependent upon completion of the DUC, and confirmation that the proposed research use is consistent with patient consent forms and any constraints identified by the institutions that submitted the dataset(s) to dbGaP. Links to a study's DAC will be found on the study report page.

Submitters of controlled-access data housed in dbGaP may retain the exclusive right to publish an analysis of their submitted data for a specified period of time. Users of controlled-access data should consult the DUC or the study report page to determine the specific publishing exclusivity period for that study.

Access to individual-level data housed in dbGaP is under the jurisdiction of the sponsoring institute. Therefore, any questions regarding access to controlled data should be directed to the DAC for the study in question, and not to NCBI.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.