A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Early English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable. Limited to simultaneous users.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, and press releases on all aspects of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.
EBL provided ebooks in PDF and EPUB formats. EBL ebooks are licensed for use by current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, and require authentication through Off Campus Sign In whenever you access full text, even while on campus. Adobe Digital Editions is required to read downloaded EBL ebooks.
OCLC catalog of online electronic books. Includes freely available ebooks (such as federal publications) and subscription ebooks (such as from netLibrary)--including ebooks that are not part of any VT subscription. If you choose limit availability to items in my library, note: 1) Some URLs will not provide ebooks because the limit also matches the Library's print collection; and 2) Limit will fail to identify ebooks that are not cataloged in Addison (IEEEXplore documents).
The Virginia Tech Libraries provide nearly 50,000 ebooks on the EBSCOhost platform, of which only 1100 are not downloadable for offline/ereader viewing. These ebooks are full-text searchable, and the contents are also cross-searchable with other EBSCOhost databases.
Select from over 50 databases covering many subjects. Searching across multiple databases is easy and still allows access to database-specific limiting options. Many databases allow limiting to peer-reviewed sources. Most contain some full-text articles (in HTML and PDF). All EBSCOhost databases support mobile devices (with javascript enabled).
ECO indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text of journals subscribed to by the Virginia Tech Libraries in all subject areas. Articles are presented in PDF, including original content and images. 1995-Feb 2012.
Ecology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and technical reports covering the ecological aspects of agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
EconLibrary indexes citations from over 500 journals in economics, accounting, and finance.
EconLit indexes citations and abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and the full text of book reviews and working papers on economic theory and application. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1969-present.
Economía y Negocios indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journals in business and economics. Search in English or Spanish for journals published in Spanish and Portuguese. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1979-present.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 30,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete, searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Content emphasizes business and economics, but world politics, science, technology, and culture are also covered. Pages display as JPEGs; use the Save button to generate a PDF of the entire article.
EIU provides economic profiles and reports that assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions for almost 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping these countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed 2 year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.
The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of EECS research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. 1973-present.
Provides policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Includes wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.
ECCO provides full-text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements in HTML and PDF. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
EIS indexes citations and abstracts of federal environmental impact statements. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1985-present.
Electronics and Communications Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal, patents, books, and more in the electronics and telecommunication aspects of engineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.
Updated continuously, Emporis provides data on architecture, construction, and real estate developments from all over the world. Search by company (consultancies, contractors, design firms, engineering firms, suppliers), building type, style, construction time frame (complete, under construction, approved, proposed, demolished, visionary, on hold), exact location and address, total height, structural height, number of floors and cubical space, date of construction project, structural system, materials, etc. Contains roughly 300,000 photos of buildings.
The Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy provides full-text, in-depth essays in HTML and PDF on the history of American foreign policy written by scholars and experts. A chronology is also provided.
The Encyclopedia of Bioethics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social, medical, business, and humanitarian issues related to bioethics. Selective biographies and codes, oaths, and policies are included.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology contains over 500 entries on all aspects of ecology. Each article is presented as a PDF, and links to other encyclopedia articles as well as relevant journal articles hosted on ScienceDirect. First edition 2008.
The Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the business aspects of growing business sectors. Essays include an industry snapshot, organization, background information, pioneering individuals, current conditions, industry leaders, work force data, areas of research, and suggested further reading.
This encyclopedia covers the four major fields in genetics. Content is available in HTML and PDF. To access this publication, you must first establish an account and then login. Click on the Register link to set up an account.
The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on genocide from the ancient world to the present. A glossary or terminology, historical images, contemporary photographs, a filmography, and primary source documents are also provided.
The Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social science and humanities aspects of Islam. Photographs, drawings, maps, charts, and a glossary are also provided.
The Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social science, humanities and performing arts, and economic issues related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. Biographies, directories of LGBT libraries, and a chronology are also provided.
The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort to gather and share descriptions of all living things. Content includes photos and videos, bibliographic links, distribution maps, and taxonomies of animals, plants, and microorganisms.
The Encyclopedia of Management provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the business, economics, technology, and legal aspects of management.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science provides full-text essays in HTML on all aspects of political science, including biographies and methodology. Allow popups to see individual essays.
The Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing provides full-text essays on industrial codes, product overviews, markets, key manufacturers, supply chain logistics, distribution channels, key users, adjacent markets, research and development, current trends, target markets, and related organizations.
This work full-text reference articles in HTML on processes, methods, and influential ideas; policy decisions and histories in fields such as privatization, biomedical ethics, education, diversity, and judicial ethics; watershed decisions and policies; current administrative practices and models. [your library's links] connects to Get VText.
The Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the social science, business, and humanities aspects of recreation and leisure activities from Colonial to modern times.
A compendium of theory, design methods, and applications as well as an examination of technologies and future trends concerning radio frequency and microwave engineering. Each article is a separate PDF.
The Encyclopedia of Russian History provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the agriculture, architecture, economic, education, social science, arts, humanities, and literature from Russian history.
The Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of science, technology, and ethics. It also provides eight introductory essays on the general topics covered and biographical entries on persons and a few mythical figures of continuing contemporary relevance.
The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF in the areas of science, social science, medicine, and humanities. It include biographies of major figures in the history of science and religion.
This is the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and is a work still in progress. (We also have the 2nd edition in print.) It provides full-text reference articles in HTML on all aspects of science fiction: authors, artists/illustrators, awards, comics, films and television and radio programs, themes, terminology, publications, fans and fanzines, characters, games, and music.
The Encyclopedia of the American Constitution provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF concerning issues and concepts related to the constitution, court cases, biographies, and judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court. It includes a glossary of terminology, a case index, name index, and a subject index.
This encyclopedia provides full-text entries in HTML on the concepts, politics, history, methods, and results of the decennial census and the continuous American Community Survey of social and economic data.
The Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF about Western colonialism from the fifteenth-century to the twenty-first-century. It also includes maps, pictures, photographs, charts, tables, and a glossary of terms.
Encyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.
The Energy Citations Database indexes citations and full-text documents on energy and energy‑related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). 1943-present.
Engineered Materials Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, patents, books, and more on all engineering and physical science aspects of engineered materials. You can limit to peer reviewed sources. 1986-present.
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple engineering and physical sciences databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Engineering Research Database indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and books on all aspects of engineering, management, engineering education, safety, and energy. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970s-present.
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 120,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Full texts of English poetry, A.D. 600-1900. In English (including Early and Middle), Greek, Latin, and other languages.
Lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly but not exclusively in English and from Britain and North America.
Full texts of more than 1,500 works by around 450 named and approximately 230 anonymous works.
Entomology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, and patents on millions of insects and insect-like species, from fossilized forms to newly discovered species. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Full record
Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.
Environment Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental engineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.
Environment Impact indexes citations and full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, books and ebooks, and other publications on climate change and human impact on the environment. 1910-present.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, and books in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental sciences and pollution. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.
Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.
The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog. Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material. 1900s-present.
Ergonomics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, ebooks, and reference works that cover the health and engineering aspects of ergonomics. 1985-present.
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.
Essay and General Literature Retrospective indexes citations to English-language essays from periodicals, annuals, and other publications. Subjects covered include economics, humanities, and social sciences. 1900-1984.
The EST database is a collection of short single-read transcript sequences from GenBank. These sequences provide a resource to evaluate gene expression, find potential variation, and annotate genes.
The ETD database indexes the full text of theses and dissertations written at Virginia Tech, which have been submitted electronically since 1995. It also includes some scanned versions of printed theses and dissertations. You can also browse these documents by author or department. Most documents are freely available, though some documents are restricted to VT users only. 1900s-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes English- and Spanish-language, full-text articles from newspapers, magazine, and journals from around the U.S. and the world. News coverage is from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, Appalachian, and multi-ethnic communities. Articles are available in HTML and PDF. 1990-present.
ETS TestLink is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Records in the 'ETS/ERIC Test File' portion are available in microfiche (by ETS tracking number) on the 1st floor of Newman Library (Fiche BF39 E28).
Search for information about published patent applications from over 80 different countries and regions (not just in Europe). Based on the PCT minimum documentation, which is defined by WIPO as the minimum requirement for patent collections used to search for prior-art documents for the purpose of assessing novelty and inventiveness.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 indexes citations of printed records (books and similar formats) about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 contains more than 32,000 citations. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. It will list libraries that own the source documents, though few of these will be available through interlibrary loan. Free access is also available.
Everyday Finance provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF the business and economics aspects of finance. It also includes images, tables, charts, and a glossary of financial terms.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.