Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000788

    Gale Economist Historical Archive
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2007, from Gale

In more than 8,000 issues since first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity and wit, The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the world's political and business leaders than any other magazine.

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week—all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

The many Supplements, Special Reports and Surveys which appear regularly in The Economist will be particularly useful to students working on projects, teachers seeking to expand their reading lists, and researchers working on company and industry trends and history.

Searches can be limited to photographs, maps, advertising, and tables. Pages display as JPEGs; use the Save button to generate a PDF of the entire article.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1843-2006

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.