Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Bioethics from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Bioethics integrates all aspects of healthcare and medical ethics, without losing sight of the wider context provided by the life scientists of the early 1970s, including their environmental and public health concerns.

Cross-references are provided for each article. However, for a complete perspective on the thematic relationships between articles, please see the "Topical Outline" in the front of the first volume following the "List of Contributors."

The bibliographies following each article are an important resource. These were prepared by the authors, or otherwise updated with approval by the Editor in Chief. The bibliographies are necessarily selective rather than completely exhaustive due to the volume of significant new books and articles relevant to each article.

The lengthy collection of codes, oaths, and policies in the fifth volume is of great value. Readers will benefit from reviewing these contents as they pertain to a specific topic of interest. Various annotated bibliographies in law and medicine, literature and medicine, and in bioethics should also be consulted. The section on "Additional Resources in Bioethics" is especially important for its thoroughness and its international aspects, including current websites worldwide that are easily available to students.

A special effort has been made to keep these volumes free from technical jargon. The articles should be accessible to students at the high school, college, and graduate levels, as well as to interested lay readers. They are written in such a manner as to be authoritative for professionals wishing to gain a clear perspective on how ideas have evolved.

Topics covered include

  • abortion
  • abuse and harm
  • African Americans
  • aging
  • business ethics in healthcare
  • children and infants
  • cloning
  • concepts and principles
  • death and dying
  • disease and illness
  • embryo and fetus
  • environment
  • ethical theories and methods
  • fertility and human reproduction
  • genetics
  • informed consent
  • international perspectives
  • law and bioethics
  • medical ethics, history of
  • medicine
  • mental health and human behavior
  • nutrition and hydration
  • nursing
  • organ and tissue transplants
  • philosophical perspectives
  • population ethics
  • professions and professional-patient
  • public health
  • religious issues
  • religious traditions
  • research
  • sexuality and gender
  • warfare

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.