Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000441

    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Ecology from ScienceDirect

Ecology is the science of the interrelations between living organisms and their environments. These interrelations are complex, varied, and hierarchical. As such, it is a broad and diverse discipline that covers topics from natural selection to population dynamics to biogeochemistry to ecosystem health and sustainability. Our aim in this compendium is to aggregate, in one major reference work, a thorough overview that does justice to this diversity and, at the same time, makes connections between the topics. The result is the five-volume work before you, containing over 530 expertly authored entries. The entries together form a comprehensive picture of the science of ecology and its major subdisciplines.

Individually, the entries are succinct, informative, state-of-the-art reviews for use as research references or teaching aids. The Encyclopedia of Ecology covers many facets of this wide-ranging and far-reaching field including:

  1. Behavioral ecology
  2. Ecological engineering 
  3. Ecological informatics
  4. Ecological modeling 
  5. Ecological processes
  6. Ecosystems
  7. Ecotoxicology
  8. Evolutionary ecology
  9. General ecology 
  10. Global ecology
  11. Human ecology
  12. Population dynamics
  13. Systems ecology

The encyclopedia is based on a broad and inclusive view of ecology with an emphasis on holistic perspectives. Holism arises because organisms are irreducible from each other and their environments. Therefore, tone and tendency in ecology is toward the holistic range along the continuum of holism–reductionism in science.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

First edition, 2008

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.