Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America from Gale Virtual Reference Library

This reference features over 500 topics more than half of which are biographies about issues, events, concepts, and figures pertinent to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. The entries are directed at beginning undergraduates and the general reader. 

Volume 3 contains a major appendix listing repositories with LGBT materials in the US and Canada and a very thorough index. The selection of the entries and often self-consciously theoretical approaches of their writers reflect the ongoing, continually developing nature of this new field. The writers teach at American universities in fields that include American studies, cultural studies, gender studies, history, history of science, legal studies, LGBT studies, and literature.

Topics include

  • People
    • Artists (film, radio, television, music, dance, visual arts)
    • Athletes
    • Colonial and revolutionary war figures
    • Movement activists
    • Other historical figures
    • Political, educational, reform, and religious figures
    • Scientists, sexologists, and social scientists
    • Writers
  • Politics
    • LGBTQ movement events
    • LBBTQ movement organizations
    • LGBTQ movements
    • LGBTQ publishing, publications, and presses
    • Social movements, politics parties, and elections
    • Scandals and witchhunts
  • Culture and arts
  • Academic disciplines and fields of inquiry
  • Identities, communities, and cultures
  • Geographies
  • Law and public policies
  • Economics and labor
  • Sex, sexuality, intimacy, and relationships
  • Religion and spirituality
  • Language, symbols, signs, and concepts
  • Social life, issues, and institutions
  • Social, cultural, and political processes

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.