Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000002

    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering from Knovel

There has been rapid development in radio frequency (RF) and microwave technologies during the past decade. RF and microwave wireless applications have been and continue to be among the hottest growth areas. Some of the expanding activities in these fields include wireless communications (mobile, cellular, and satellite), wireless sensors, local area networks, remote control and identification, global positioning systems (GPS), and intelligent highway and vehicle systems (IHVS). The Encyclopedia is intended to serve as a compendium of theory, design methods, applications, overview, and future trends of technologies. Each article is a self-contained unit and is written for both non-specialists and specialists. Some overlap among articles is allowed for easy study. It is hoped that this Encyclopedia will provide useful information for technicians, students, professors, engineers, managers, and researchers in today's rapidly changing high-frequency technologies. The Encyclopedia consists of six volumes. The articles include an overview of each subject, followed by in-depth descriptions of important theory, technology developments, and applications. Each article includes a list of references for further study. Some articles are adapted from the Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Most of these articles have been revised and updated. 

Among the major topics are the following: 

  • Electromagnetics
  • Numerical Methods
  • Wave Propagation
  • Transmission Lines
  • Transmission Line Discontinuities
  • RF Circuits
  • RF Components and Devices
  • RF Technology
  • RF Integrated Circuits
  • RF CMOS Technology
  • RF Antennas
  • RF Transmitters
  • RF Receivers
  • RF Systems
  • Microwave Passive Components and Devices
  • Microwave Active Components and Devices
  • Microwave Semiconductor Devices and Processing
  • Microwave Hybrid and Monolithic Integrated Circuits
  • Microwave Antennas
  • Microwave Transmitters
  • Microwave Receivers
  • Microwave Superconductors
  • Microwave Systems
  • Millimeter-wave and Submillimeter-wave Technologies
  • RF and Microwave Measurements
  • RF and Microwave Propagation
  • RF and Microwave Photonics
  • CAD Techniques and Modeling
  • Modulation and Demodulation Techniques
  • Packaging and Interconnects
  • Frequency Synthesizers
  • Signal and Baseband Processing
  • Solid-state Devices
  • Semiconductor Materials
  • High Power Tubes
  • Noise
  • Low Power Electronics
  • Radar Systems
  • Communication Systems
  • Navigation Systems
  • Radio Technologies
  • Remote Sensing
  • Broadcasting

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.