Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Welcome to the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, published online in collaboration with the Gollancz SF Gateway. This builds upon and greatly expands the 1979 first edition edited by Peter NICHOLLS and the 1993 second edition edited by John CLUTE and Peter NICHOLLS. The latter also appeared in a revised paperback edition with corrections/addenda and, somewhat enlarged, as a 1995 CD-ROM.

It is important to note that this is currently a "beta" version, a work in progress. Owing to the sheer amount of new material published since 1995, and also to the ambitious scale of our improvements to the coverage, we had never expected to complete all the basic work before late 2012. Thus many author entries beyond N in the alphabet have yet to be updated (although several have been given priority despite alphabetical sequence), and updates in several other areas including country entries, critics, editors, films and publishers have been only partial. Work continues, with regular scheduled updates of this website as a whole.

Entries are divided into various categories as described in 1993 (below). This was made explicit in the organization of the 1995 CD-ROM edition and has since been further refined. Entries for Authors, Artists/Illustrators, Awards, Comics, Countries, Films, Television are grouped together as in the headings below, and separate headword indexes for each can be called up on the SFE website; likewise for the new or changed categories that follow. Themes and Terminology, whose distinction was always blurred, have been grouped together (again as in the CD-ROM) under Themes. Magazines and anthologies are tagged as Publications, which with the additional tag Fan also covers Fanzines. There are newly introduced tags for Characters (like DOC SAVAGE or SUPERMAN) Critics (always in combination with Author), Editors, Games, House Names (always in combination with Author), Music and Radio. Film-makers appear under Film but are additionally tagged People to distinguish them from films; the People tag is also used in conjunction with Television, Music and Comics to distinguish individuals from shows, bands and comic titles. The Miscellaneous category which appears last below was renamed Community for the CD-ROM and there used to cover publishers, institutions, CONVENTIONS and various aspects of FANDOM – its present use is much the same, although Awards in particular have been removed from this category and given their own.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.