Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Office of Scientific and Technical Information
This resource is freely accessible

Energy Citations Database from OSTI

The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 259,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. When an electronic document is available, an indicator is provided in the search results and on the bibliographic citation page. The electronic document may be accessed via a link to the document. Regional Federal Depository Libraries maintain and make available DOE research literature, providing access to non‑electronic documents prior to 1994 and electronic access to more recent documents. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

ECD was created and developed by DOE’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information with the science-attentive citizen in mind. It contains energy and energy‑related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

Features of ECD include:
  • bibliographic citations for scientific and technical information dating from 1943 to the present;
  • basic search capability;
  • fielded search capability;
  • capability to search on full text, bibliographic citation, title, creator/author, subject, identifier numbers, publication date, system entry date, resource/document type, research organization, sponsoring organization, and/or combinations thereof;
  • capability to sort search results by relevance, publication date, system entry date, resource/document type, title, research organization, sponsoring organization, or the unique OSTI Identifier;
  • ability to acquire a count of search results with a link to the search results;
  • ability to receive weekly Alerts in topics of interest;
  • information about Technical Requirements

Additional links

Rights

This system is made available by an agency of the United States Government. Government information at DOE websites, including the OSTI site, is in the public domain. Public domain information may be freely distributed and copied, but it is requested that in any subsequent use the Department of Energy be given appropriate acknowledgement. When using the OSTI website, you may encounter documents, illustrations, photographs, or other information resources contributed or licensed by private individuals, companies, or organizations that may be protected by U.S. and foreign copyright laws. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use as defined in the copyright laws requires the written permission of the copyright owners.

Images on our website which are in the public domain may be used without permission. If you use images from our website, we ask that you credit us as the source. Please note that some images on our site may have been obtained from other organizations. Permission to use these images should be obtained directly from those organizations.

Coverage

1943-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.