Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001679

    Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press

The analysis and study of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables modern engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Yet the tools to teach these classes are often inconsistent, with much of the material scattered across numerous resources. Once located, information can be subjective and incomplete.

The engineering field needs a comprehensive resource to provide in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures. Engineering Case Studies Online is an online collection that offers 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. It provides in-depth coverage for 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world together with supplementary materials from more than 1,000 additional failures.

Materials in the collection include

  • Feature-length video documentaries of major failures.
  • Monographs explaining cases in detail and describing key engineering concepts and issues.
  • Simulations depicting precisely what went wrong.
  • Primary footage of accidents, including related news segments.
  • Event timelines and maps.
  • Audio footage and transcripts.
  • Testimonies from participants, victims, and witnesses.
  • Images, accident reports, blueprints, and other key archival content whenever available.
  • Bibliographies of authoritative materials from newspapers, Web sites, and journals.
  • Specially written cases that explore engineering ethics.

Example cases include

  • Air France flight 4590
  • Apollo 13
  • The Big Dig
  • Boeing 787 Dreamliner
  • Chernobyl power plant
  • Deepwater Horizon oil rig
  • Ford Pinto
  • Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant
  • Hyatt Regency walkway
  • Space shuttle Challenger
  • Tacoma Narrows bridge
  • Titanic
  • TWA flight 800

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

June 10, 2014


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.