Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001255

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Engineering Research Database from ProQuest

The Engineering Research Database covers the international serial and non-serial literature pertaining to civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering including their complementary fields of forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics/computation. Content includes basic and applied research, design, construction, technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, energy production and developments in new technologies.

Sources covered include over 3,500 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.

Subjects covered include

  • Aircraft design and engineering
  • Arctic and tropical engineering
  • Automotive design and engineering
  • Bridges and tunnels
  • Buildings, towers and tanks
  • Civil engineering for air and space transportation
  • Coastal and offshore structures
  • Construction materials
  • Design and properties of substructures
  • Earthmoving and construction machinery
  • Electric and hybrid vehicles
  • Engineering for electric power generation
  • Engineering for industrial and manufacturing processes
  • Flood analysis
  • Fuels and propellants
  • Geotechnical engineering
  • Hazardous materials
  • High speed trains, rapid transit railways and monorails
  • Highways and roads
  • Industrial robots and automation
  • Industrial waste and sewage
  • Internal combustion engines
  • Land development, irrigation and drainage
  • Magnetic levitation railways
  • Military technology
  • Nuclear power plants
  • Pollution, waste and water engineering
  • Railroad rails and structures
  • Road, rail and sea transport
  • Seismic engineering
  • Seismic phenomena
  • Shipbuilding
  • Site remediation and reclamation
  • Sporting and recreational vehicles
  • Storm water management
  • Tanks and armored vehicles
  • Theoretical mechanics and dynamics
  • Thermoelectric energy
  • Tidal and wind power
  • Waste management

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1970s-present

Date

June 20, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.