Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Entrez databases from NLM
 This resource is freely accessible

Entrez from the NLM

Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.

More detailed help is available for the individual Entrez databases in the NCBI Help Manual sections on the NCBI bookshelf.

The Entrez search interface features powerful options for constructing precise searches and managing results. Options include popular configurable Limits and preset filters to help focus on specific kinds of results, an Advanced Search interface that facilitates constructing more sophisticated queries. Specialized search fields are available for each database and can be browsed and selected in the Search Builder section of the Advanced Search interface. Other useful Entrez features include Search History with access to recent results and a Clipboard where search results can be saved temporarily. A My NCBI account increases the power of the system by providing even more flexibility. Most importantly Entrez integrates data with links within and between databases. Not only does this interconnectivity enhance navigation and allow search results to be quickly focused or expanded; but also, more importantly, these relationships often expose unexpected connections that can lead to scientific discoveries

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.